Trending News
The latest season of the Montreal Independent Film Festival has concluded. See the full list of winners moving on to the annual competition.

Take a peek at this month’s winners of the Montreal Independent Film Festival

O Canada, the place to find your new indie fav. 

Now in its third year, the Montreal Independent Film Festival brings the best of indie film worldwide to its IMDB-qualifying festival. Each month, a new group of winners is selected, and the winners are then automatically entered into the yearly festival. 

With Oscar-nominees, Cannes selections, and iconic indie films among past winners, you never know what to expect from the talent at the Montreal Independent Film Festival. The most recent winners were announced on June 15th, and you can take a peek at the full list of winners below. 

Best Narrative Feature:

The Ravine

Director: Keoni Waxman

Best Director:

East of Middle West

Director: Brian Lucke Anderson

Best Narrative Short & Best Canadian Indie:

Five Pounds of Pressure

Director: Liam Petite

Best Short Thriller & Best Cinematography:


Directors: Michael Grant, Stephanie Katherine Grant

Best Biography:

Max Steiner Maestro of Movie Music

Director: Diana Friedberg

Best Feature Documentary:

The Pasha

Director: Josie Maynard

Best Short Documentary:

Our Feet Are Rooted

Director: Krista Imbesi

Honorable Mention Short Documentary:


Director: Fredi Devas

Best Independent Feature:

Raindrops from the Sun

Director: Tomonao Sakurayashiki

Honorable Mention Independent Feature:


Director: Jessica Hester, Derek Schweickart

Best Short Horror:

Hollow Walls

Director: Michael Minard

Best Comedy:

Mann Overboard

Director: Sam Cadman

Best Short Animation:

The Cat

Director: Mary Apick

Honorable Mention Animation:

On / Off

Director: Nicolas P. Villarreal

Best Sci-Fi:

The Evaluation

Director: Andrew Kuokka

Best Series/Pilot/Web:


Director: Eric Tucker

Best Short Experimental:

Outside My Window

Director: Sonia Gemmiti

Best Experimental Directing:

A moment of whiteness just before…

Director: Johanne Chagnon

Best Environmental:


Directors: Gloria Pancrazi, Elena Jean

Best Female Director:


Director: Robin Hauser

Best Human Rights Feature Docu:

“Saving the Iraqi Jewish Archives: A Journey of Identity”

Directors: Adriana Davis, Carole Basri

Best Human Rights Short Docu:

The Bitter Root

Director: Chad Clendinen

Best First Time Filmmaker:


Director: Rayul

Best Student Short:

No Dye

Director: Yoni Azulay

Best Student Animation:

Final Deathtination

Director: Marika Tamura

Best Canadian Student Film:

Body of Mine

Director: Sean Patterson

Best Environmental Canadian:


Director: Zach Fenlon


Remember Us

Director: Rubyll Banuelos

Best Music Video:

Nautical Things

Director: Samantha Light

Best Actor:

Carson MacCormac for East of Middle West

Best Actress:

Teri Polo for The Ravine

Honorable Mention Best Actress:

Joyce-Grey-Carter for The last breath

Best Composer:

Dominio Vigente Der Wert Der Erde

Juan Mora Cid

Honorable Mention Composer:

Jordan Lewis for The Just

Best Script:


Writer: Lolita Fortuin

Best Trailer of the month:


Director: Rodrigo Rodrigues

Best Producer & Best Edit:

East of Middle West

Producers: Mokotsi Rukundo & Brian Lucke Anderson

Editor: Glen Montgomery

If you’re convinced the Montreal Independent Film Festival is perfect for you, you can submit your work to their FilmFreeway page. The deadline is July 9th for the next season, but since the festival awards prizes monthly, you can always enter later.

Share via:
Sponsored Post
No Comments

Leave a Comment