Trending News
Roe vs. Wade has been overturned, now it's up to states to ban or protect abortions. Here's where abortion procedures are still legal in North America.

Political procedure: Where can you get abortions in North America now?

The new decision by the U.S. Supreme Court to overturn its landmark 1973 Roe vs. Wade ruling on abortion rights has handed state lawmakers across the U.S. the power to restrict or ban abortion. As a result, the legality of abortion will be varied and inconsistent, completely depending on where a person resides.

Thirteen states have so-called “trigger laws,” in which abortion will swiftly be outlawed in most cases. In Friday’s ruling, the court upheld a Mississippi law banning abortion after 15 weeks of pregnancy.

Now, American women are left with little choice when it comes to their own bodies. As a result, many have decided that traveling to Canada may be in their best interest if searching for a safe & legal abortion procedure. Discover where you can legally have an abortion in North America now that Roe vs. Wade has been overturned.

Justin Trudeau disapproves of U.S. abortion ban

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau said in a tweet on Friday, “My heart goes out to the millions of American women who are now set to lose their legal right to an abortion. I can’t imagine the fear and anger you are feeling right now. No government, politician, or man should tell a woman what she can and cannot do with her body.”

When asked by reporters whether Canada would aid U.S. women seeking abortions, Trudeau carefully chose his words and indirectly answered the question. Trudeau explained, “Everyday Americans who find themselves in Canada access our health care system in Canada and that’s certainly something that will continue.”

However, there have been few details or explanations on how accessible crossing the Canadian border can be and if it may conflict with specific state laws in the United States.

Before Roe vs. Wade was officially overturned, Canada already indicated it would continue to accommodate Americans seeking abortions. Back in May 2022, Public Safety Minister Marco Mendicino said he was in discussions with Canada Border Services Agency to ensure Americans seeking abortions can come to Canada to access a safe abortion. However, few finer details of this plan were divulged.

Can Canada help Americans seeking safe abortions?

There have been doubts if Canada can fulfill such a promise. Although Canada has progressive freedom toward abortions and reproductive rights, the nation still struggles with access to the procedure. With a potential increase in demand for abortions from Americans, the country might not be able to fully accommodate. There are relatively few abortion clinics in Canada and many are already working at full capacity. 

“What happened in the U.S. is very scary, and it’s certainly something we have to be vigilant about,” said Insiya Mankani, public affairs officer for Action Canada for Sexual Health and Rights, reports Global News.

“At the same time, we need to continue to make sure that there is better access to abortion across this country. And I think the federal government can certainly play a role in that.”

Where are abortion procedures banned in the U.S.?

A number of Republican-led states have already outlawed abortions at various stages in a pregnancy. Democratic-led states, meanwhile, have acted to protect abortion rights. So far, thirteen states have so-called “trigger” laws that would restrict abortion procedures with Roe overturned.

These states include Arkansas, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming. Some of the states’ laws would go into effect immediately following a Supreme Court decision, while others would kick in after 30 days.

States with laws protecting the right to an abortion

While many Republican-led states have passed laws restricting abortion access, Democratic-led states have moved to maintain abortion rights. Sixteen states and the District of Columbia have taken such steps. This includes California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington.

Share via:
No Comments

Leave a Comment