Trending News

Virginia Tech Sports Hall of Fame Welcomes Class of 2023 Inductees

The Virginia Tech Sports Hall of Fame proudly welcomed seven outstanding individuals into its esteemed ranks, representing the illustrious 2023 class. The induction ceremony took place with great fanfare at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center on a memorable Friday evening.

This distinguished class comprises former three-sport marvel Bob Bowman, two-time AP All-American standout Malcolm Delaney, 2014 NFL Draft first-round pick Kyle Fuller, former women’s basketball sensation Carrie Mason, women’s soccer luminary Jazmine Reeves, 2011 ACC Football Player of the Year David Wilson, and the remarkable three-time track and field national champion, Alexander Ziegler.

For each inductee, the significance of this honor was palpable, with emotions running deep. Jazmine Reeves, who not only made history as the first Hermann Trophy semifinalist but also the first-team NSCAA All-American in program history, expressed her gratitude, saying, “It means everything. As athletes, we always aspire for really great accomplishments and things we can hang our hat on. I never imagined this, per se, but I’m just very grateful and thankful.” Reeves played a pivotal role in leading the Hokies to their lone College Cup berth in 2013 and achieved a historic Sweet 16 breakthrough for the program.

Carrie Mason, hailing from Seneca, Pennsylvania, was equally humbled by the recognition, saying, “When I found out, I was kind of speechless. It’s just a complete honor. The program, the history, the university, coming from a small town that I come from. It’s just surreal to me.” Mason left a lasting legacy at Virginia Tech, graduating in 2006 as one of the program’s most decorated players and the school’s all-time leader in 3-pointers.

Bob Bowman, a versatile athlete, distinguished himself in wrestling, track and field, and cross country during his time in the New River Valley. Graduating in 1960 from what was then Virginia Polytechnic Institute, Bowman clinched the 1959 and 1960 Southern Conference titles in the 123-pound weight class and also served as a member of the Corp of Cadets during his campus years.

Malcolm Delaney, a standout in the men’s basketball program from 2007 to 2011, left an indelible mark by ranking third all-time in career points (2,255) and assists (543) in program history.

Kyle Fuller, who wore the Hokie jersey from 2010 to 2013, parlayed three All-ACC honors into becoming the 14th overall pick for the Chicago Bears in the 2014 NFL Draft.

David Wilson, a remarkable two-sport athlete in both football and track and field, impressed with dual All-America showings in both sports, and Alexander Ziegler still holds the distinction of being one of only three Virginia Tech student-athletes with three or more national championships in the school’s storied history.

During their acceptance speeches, each new member shared a common theme – their deep affection for the university, their coaches, teammates, and the vibrant Tech community. Bill Roth, the Voice of Tech football and one of the emcees of the event, aptly summarized, “It was a common theme throughout the evening that reminded all of us how lucky we are to be part of the Hokies Athletics family.”

Carrie Mason echoed this sentiment, saying, “You know the slogan, This Is Home? This is my second home. It feels comfortable when I’m back here in Blacksburg. … It’s home. It’s life-changing. Virginia Tech is life-changing.”

Jazmine Reeves fondly reminisced about her time at Virginia Tech, stating, “The four years I spent here were so special. It’s unmatched. The community here, the team that I had around me, just everything about it. I just have the fondest of memories here, and I’m just so glad to be back and celebrating throughout the weekend.”

With the induction of these seven remarkable individuals, the Virginia Tech Sports Hall of Fame now boasts a total of 225 distinguished members. Established in 1982, this hallowed hall is located at the south end of the Cassell Coliseum ambulatory. The seven new inductees will receive due recognition at halftime of the upcoming Saturday’s football game against Purdue.


Share via:
No Comments

Leave a Comment